Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Northern Pipeline Act

Version of section 18 from 2003-01-01 to 2003-03-31:

Marginal note:Council to be established

  •  (1) For the purpose of carrying out the objects of this Act, the Governor in Council may establish a Federal-Provincial Consultative Council consisting of

    • (a) the Commissioner and a representative of the Yukon Territory named by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Commissioner in Council of the Yukon Territory; and

    • (b) one representative of each of the provinces of British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Alberta nominated by the Lieutenant Governor in Council of each of those provinces.

  • Marginal note:Meeting and objects

    (2) The Council established under subsection (1) shall meet at least once every three months at such places in Canada as may be determined by the Council to consult on and to facilitate the coordination of the actions of the Agency, the governments of the provinces referred to in paragraph (1)(b), the government of the Yukon Territory and other governmental bodies in relation to the pipeline, and in particular with a view to ensuring a consistent approach in so far as is possible relating to the pipeline.

  • Marginal note:Committees of Council

    (3) The Council established by subsection (1) may establish committees of the Council to advise it on such matters relating to the objects set out in subsection (2) as the Council refers to those committees.

  • 1977-78, c. 20, s. 17

Date modified: