Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Official Languages Act

Version of section 14 from 2023-06-20 to 2024-04-01:

Marginal note:Official languages of federal courts

  •  (1) English and French are the official languages of the federal courts, and either of those languages may be used by any person in, or in any pleading in or process issuing from, any federal court.

  • Marginal note:Appearing in official language of choice

    (2) The choice of either official language by a person appearing before a federal court shall not be prejudicial to that person.

  • R.S., 1985, c. 31 (4th Supp.), s. 14
  • 2023, c. 15, s. 10.1

Date modified: