Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Official Languages Act

Version of section 3 from 2023-06-20 to 2024-04-01:

Marginal note:Definitions

  •  (1) In this Act,

    business day

    business day means a day other than

    • (a) a Saturday;

    • (b) a Sunday or other holiday; and

    • (c) a day that falls during the seasonal recess, as defined in section 2 of the Federal Courts Rules; (jour ouvrable)


    Commissioner means the Commissioner of Official Languages for Canada appointed under section 49; (commissaire)


    communication means any form of communication, including oral, written, electronic, virtual or other communications; (communication)

    Crown corporation

    Crown corporation means

    • (a) a corporation that is ultimately accountable, through a Minister, to Parliament for the conduct of its affairs, and

    • (b) a parent Crown corporation or a wholly-owned subsidiary, within the meaning of section 83 of the Financial Administration Act; (sociétés d’État)


    department means a department as defined in section 2 of the Financial Administration Act; (ministère)

    federal institution

    federal institution includes any of the following institutions of the Parliament or government of Canada:

    • (a) the Senate,

    • (b) the House of Commons,

    • (c) the Library of Parliament,

    • (c.1) the office of the Senate Ethics Officer and the office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner,

    • (c.2) the Parliamentary Protective Service,

    • (c.3) the office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer,

    • (d) any federal court,

    • (e) any board, commission or council, or other body or office, established to perform a governmental function by or pursuant to an Act of Parliament or by or under the authority of the Governor in Council,

    • (f) a department of the Government of Canada,

    • (g) a Crown corporation established by or pursuant to an Act of Parliament, and

    • (h) any other body that is specified by an Act of Parliament to be an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada or to be subject to the direction of the Governor in Council or a minister of the Crown,

    but does not include

    • (i) any institution of the Legislative Assembly or government of Yukon, the Northwest Territories or Nunavut, or

    • (j) any Indian band, band council or other body established to perform a governmental function in relation to an Indian band or other group of aboriginal people; (institutions fédérales)

    National Capital Region

    National Capital Region means the National Capital Region described in the schedule to the National Capital Act; (région de la capitale nationale)


    publication means any form of publication, regardless of the medium, including printed, electronic, virtual or other publications; (publication)


    restoration means, in relation to the demographic weight of French linguistic minority communities, a return of the demographic weight of all members of those communities whose first official language spoken is French to the level it had at the time of the census of population of Canada taken by Statistics Canada in 1971, namely, 6.1% of the population outside Quebec; (rétablissement)


    service means any form of service provided or made available, including oral, written, electronic, virtual or other services. (service)

  • Marginal note:Definition of federal court

    (2) In this section and in Parts II and III, federal court means any court, tribunal or other body that carries out adjudicative functions and is established by or pursuant to an Act of Parliament.

  • R.S., 1985, c. 31 (4th Supp.), s. 3
  • 1993, c. 28, s. 78
  • 2002, c. 7, s. 224
  • 2004, c. 7, s. 26
  • 2006, c. 9, s. 20
  • 2014, c. 2, s. 39
  • 2015, c. 36, s. 144
  • 2017, c. 20, s. 179
  • 2023, c. 15, s. 6

Date modified: