Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Federal Sustainable Development Act

Version of section 8 from 2020-12-01 to 2024-04-01:

Marginal note:Sustainable Development Advisory Council

  •  (1) The Minister shall appoint a Sustainable Development Advisory Council composed of one representative from each province and territory, six representatives of Aboriginal peoples, and three representatives from each of the following:

    • (a) [Repealed, 2019, c. 2, s. 5]

    • (b) environmental non-governmental organizations;

    • (c) organizations representative of business; and

    • (d) organizations representative of labour.

  • Marginal note:Demographic representation

    (1.1) The Minister shall, when appointing representatives to the Sustainable Development Advisory Council, seek to reflect the diversity of Canadian society by taking into account demographic considerations such as age and gender.

  • Marginal note:Chair

    (2) The Minister is the chair of the Sustainable Development Advisory Council.

  • Marginal note:Mandate

    (2.1) The mandate of the Sustainable Development Advisory Council is to advise the Minister on any matter related to sustainable development, including matters referred to it by the Minister.

  • Marginal note:Expenses

    (3) The representatives appointed to the Sustainable Development Advisory Council may be paid reasonable expenses incurred by them in connection with the business of the Council, subject to applicable Treasury Board directives.

  • 2008, c. 33, s. 8
  • 2019, c. 2, s. 5

Date modified: